top of page
Search
Areeya Tatjana T. Ho

I.M shows off his “Duality” in his first solo EP


(Twitter/Monsta X)




Monsta X’s I.M debuts his solo digital mini-album “Duality” on Friday along with the release of the music video of “God Damn,” the album’s title track.


The mini-album carries a trap-inspired sound, with a mix of Korean and English lyrics. It sports five tracks, all of which the artist, legally known as Im Chang-kyun, self-wrote and self-produced.


“‘God Damn means a lot to me. The whole album is my baby and I made it, but God Damn, the lyrics describe me a lot,” I.M said in an interview with Metro.co.uk.

The 25-year-old artist explained that his debut mini-album is all about his experiences, and how the sound differs from the tracks he produced for Monsta X.


“I don’t really care that it’s not mainstream, it’s just me,” he said in the interview.


Before the release of the music video and mini-album, I.M was involved in a controversy regarding the shirt that he donned in some of the promotional images released.


I.M was seen wearing a shirt with a sacred Arabic phrase, “Bismillahir Rahmanir Rahim,” which translates to “In the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful."


The artist’s label, Starship Entertainment, has issued an apology and deleted all images in question.


“We should have taken further measures to ensure there were no religious implications in the concept photos in advance and we regret not being able to scrutinize it fully,” the formal apology stated.



20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page